Mrs. Jessica Unrein - Student Advocate

Though born in New Jersey, my family moved to Vermont when I was very young.  I grew up in beautiful Underhill and I can’t think of a better place to be a kid!  I spent my childhood, biking down country roads, swimming in rivers, climbing trees, and wandering through the woods.  

My parents are faithful Catholics and my faith came in waves throughout my childhood and teen years.  When it came time to choose a college, it made sense to go to a Catholic one where my faith could be fostered.  I chose Franciscan University in Steubenville, Ohio and majored in Elementary Education.  I graduated in 2006.  Upon graduating, I moved back to Vermont and worked as an assistant preschool teacher at King Street Youth Center in Burlington.  After two years there, I felt I was ready for my own classroom.  I wanted so badly to work in a Catholic school, and my prayers were answered with St. Francis!  

I was hired in 2008 as a Kindergarten teacher.  I taught for 5 years and then decided to take a year off to have my second baby.  One year turned into three as my husband took a job in Northern Virginia.  We spent a year and a half there and realized Vermont was calling us home.  I knew I was ready to go back to teaching and I was lucky enough to get the 1st grade position back here at St. Francis.  As soon as I walked back in the doors, I knew I was home.  I taught 1st grade for 4 years and then had an epiphany about how I wanted to work with children.  I realized how desperately students are in need of social/emotional support and so I decided to leave the classroom and get my masters degree in school and clinical counseling.  I will start that next fall.  I am beyond happy to begin this journey at St. Francis; working with the students and faculty that I’ve been blessed to work with all along!  

I currently live in Burlington with my  two children Benjamin (9) and Josie (7), and my Husband, Shane. Both kids attend St. Francis.  When I’m not in the classroom, I enjoy hiking, biking, reading, traveling (when I can), and spending time with family and friends.